Gov. Henry McMaster Creates Statewide Commission to Address Flooding

Click for Latest Disaster Information

COLUMBIA, S.C. – Governor Henry McMaster today issued Executive Order 2018-50, which creates the South Carolina Floodwater Commission. The governor has created the Commission due to a need for communication and coordination between local authorities, state officials, federal agencies, and the private sector. The group is tasked with identifying potential short-term and long-term mitigation solutions for low lying and coastal areas and areas along the state’s rivers.

"A cohesive, collaborative statewide approach is needed to address the problem of flooding and this gives us the greatest opportunity for success," said Gov. Henry McMaster. "While it may seem like a daunting proposition, the only way to solve this problem is by working together, as Team South Carolina. This commission will serve as a vehicle for authorities to exchange research and ideas while coordinating mitigation efforts and proposals."

The Commission will be comprised of a chairman appointed by the governor, nine ex officio members serving by virtue of office, and no more than eighteen additional appointments by the governor from the following categories:

  • South Carolina Adjutant General or designee, ex officio
  • Director of the Emergency Management Division or designee, ex officio
  • Director of the State Disaster Recovery Office or designee, ex officio
  • Director of the Department of Health and Environment Control (DHEC) or designee, ex officio
  • Director of the DHEC Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management (OCRM), ex officio
  • Commissioner of Agriculture or designee, ex officio
  • Secretary of the Department of Transportation or designee, ex officio
  • Members of Congress for the 1st and 7th Congressional Districts or designee,ex officio
  • One or more members of the Senate and/or of the House of Representatives as appointed by the Governor
  • Representatives from Chambers of Commerce from coastal counties
  • Mayors from coastal cities and towns
  • Representatives from coastal county councils
  • Commanders of federal military installations located along the coast
  • Individuals appointed by the Governor who have relevant professional, academic or research expertise in the areas of engineering, flood mitigation, public planning, hydrology, marine sciences, environmental protection, or related issues.

Governor McMaster has appointed Tom Mullikin Sr., of Camden to serve as chair of the Commission. Mullikin currently serves as a research professor at Coastal Carolina University.

The commission membership will be announced in the weeks to follow with an initial meeting to be held in mid to late November.