Disaster Recovery Centers Opening in Chesterfield, Dillon and Horry Counties

Click for Latest Disaster Information

COLUMBIA, S.C. – Disaster Recovery Centers are opening in in Cheraw, Dillon and Conway on Tuesday, October 2 to help residents with damages and losses from Hurricane Florence. Other centers will be opening soon in the areas affected by Hurricane Florence.

Representatives from the State of South Carolina, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the U.S. Small Business Administration and other public and private agencies will be at the centers to explain disaster assistance programs and offer help to individuals.

The Disaster Recovery Centers will be located at the following addresses:

Chesterfield County
Northeast Technical College - Building 200
1201 Chesterfield Highway
Cheraw, SC 29520
Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Dillon County
City of Dillon Wellness Center
1647 Commerce Drive
Dillon, SC 29536
Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Horry County
Horry Georgetown Technical College
2050 US 501
Conway, SC 29526
Hours: Mon-Fri, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Sat-Sun, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The centers are accessible to people with disabilities. Centers have assistive technology equipment allowing disaster survivors to use amplified telephones, phones that display text, amplified listening devices for people with hearing loss, and magnifiers for people with vision loss. Video Remote Interpreting is available and in-person sign language is available by request. The centers also have accessible parking, ramps and restrooms.

Homeowners, renters and businesses can also check their eligibility for federal, state and voluntary agency disaster assistance available by:

The following information is helpful when registering:

  • Address of the location where the damage occurred (pre-disaster address)
  • Current mailing address
  • Current telephone number
  • Insurance information
  • Total household annual income
  • Routing and account number for checking or savings account (this allows direct transfer of funds into a bank account)
  • A description of disaster-caused damage and losses

Disaster survivors can visit any center for assistance. Visit www.fema.gov/DRC to view other locations. South Carolina homeowners, renters and business owners in Chesterfield, Dillon, Georgetown, Horry, Marion and Marlboro counties may apply for disaster assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from Hurricane Florence.