FEMA Approves Reimbursement of Hurricane Matthew Infrastructure Costs for 18 Counties, State Agencies

Click for Latest Disaster Information

COLUMBIA, S.C.– South Carolina state agencies, local governments and non-profit organizations in 18 counties are now eligible through FEMA to recoup costs associated with infrastructure damage caused by Hurricane Matthew. The FEMA Public Assistance Program will provide a partial reimbursement of costs for damages to roads and bridges, water control facilities, buildings and equipment, utilities, and parks and recreational facilities in the following counties: Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkeley, Colleton, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Lee, Marion, Orangeburg, Sumter and Williamsburg counties. 


Previously, 17 of these counties, not including Orangeburg County, were only approved for Categories A and B, debris removal and emergency response measures. At this time, Charleston and Darlington Counties are only eligible for Categories A and B but are still being assessed by local, state, and federal officials.


The FEMA Public Assistance program categories approved for reimbursement are as follows: 

  • Category A: Debris Removal.

  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.

  • Category C: Roads and Bridges.  

  • Category D: Water Control Facilities.

  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment.

  • Category F: Utilities.

  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities and Other Items.


The FEMA Public Assistance program is a reimbursement grant program. Typically, the federal share is 75 percent. More information about this program can be found here.


FEMA previously approved direct Individual Assistance to residents who experienced losses as a result of Hurricane Matthew. To determine if they are eligible for federal disaster aid, residents in Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Jasper, Lee, Marion, Orangeburg, Sumter and Williamsburg counties should register with FEMA by visiting www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-3362. Once registered, FEMA will work with each resident to determine what aid, if any, might be available.


State and local agencies continue damage assessments in areas affected by Hurricane Matthew. The results of these preliminary damage assessments are then submitted to FEMA to determine a county’s eligibility for the Individual Assistance and the Public Assistance programs. To date, no counties have been denied any federal aid by FEMA as part of this process.