Ice Storm Reimbursement Deadline Extended

Click for Latest Disaster Information

 The S.C. Emergency Management Division announced today that any applicant eligible for federal reimbursement from the Feb. 10-14 winter weather event should submit a formal request to the agency before May 9.  SCEMD is accepting Requests for Public Assistance from any local government, state agency or private not-for profit located within the 22-county designated federal disaster area.  Submitting the RPA to SCEMD allows eligible applicants to begin the FEMA Public Assistance reimbursement process.  Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal, emergency work and the repair or replacement of eligible facilities in the State of South Carolina for Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Berkeley, Calhoun, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Dillon, Dorchester, Edgefield, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Lexington, Marion, Orangeburg, Saluda, Sumter and Williamsburg counties. 

It is extremely important for all government agencies and eligible private non-profit organizations that have eligible costs or damages associated with the winter weather event to compete this form as soon as possible to ensure they will be available to receive funding.  SCEMD’s Recovery Section has worked with FEMA conducting a series of briefings and meetings with local governments to share information on the reimbursement process and the necessary steps to take.  Completed RPA forms should be returned to SCEMD by email at to or via fax to 803-737-8570.  Private non-profit organizations (including electric cooperatives) will require additional support documentation, including (1) Tax Exemption Certificate and (2) either organizational by-laws OR a (signed) copy of charter/articles of incorporation.  All RPAs must be vetted by SCEMD staff, submitted to FEMA, and entered into their system no later than May 9, 2014.